spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Solar sail launched, status unknown
Posted: Tue, Jun 21, 2005, 8:18 PM ET (0018 GMT)
Cosmos 1 solar sail A sub-based Russian booster launched an experimental solar sail satellite late Tuesday, but ground controllers have yet to establish contact with the spacecraft. The Volna rocket launched from a Russian missile submarine in the Barents Sea at 3:46 pm EDT (1946 GMT), carrying the Cosmos 1 spacecraft. The rocket was supposed to place the satellite into orbit, which would then establish radio contact with ground stations. However, the last data received from the mission was during an orbit insertion burn; ground controllers in Pasadena reported that the firing initially appeared normal but that data later became noisy before being lost altogether. Mission officials said late Tuesday afternoon that they don't know yet if there was a problem with the launch vehicle or the satellite, or even if the satellite is in orbit. Cosmos 1, a joint venture of The Planetary Society and Cosmos Studios, is designed to be the first orbital test of a solar sail, using sunlight to gradually raise the spacecraft's orbit around the Earth. A suborbital test flight in July 2001 of the solar sail system used on Cosmos 1 also failed when the payload failed to separate from the Volna booster.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 9:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)

X Prize Foundation revives lunar prize competition
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 9:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)

news links
Saturday, April 21
ULA slows Vulcan debut for upper-stage engine switch
Denver Business Journal — 11:44 am ET (1544 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list