spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia proposes lunar space tourist flight
Updated: Wed, Jul 27, 2005, 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Jul 27, 2005, 8:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roskosmos and aerospace company Energia have proposed flying a Soyuz mission around the Moon if they are able to find a passenger willing to pay $100 million for the flight. Under the plan, a cosmonaut and tourist, after spending a week at the ISS, would fly a Soyuz spacecraft around the Moon and return to Earth. The mission plan is similar to one proposed last year by a US company, Constellation Services International (CSI). Russian officials said that they have all the technology they need for the flight, but would require 18-24 months to manufacture the hardware needed for the mission. The flight would be paid for by the tourist's $100-million fee, with some of that funding going to support the development of Kilper, Russia's successor to Soyuz.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list