spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA nixes fourth spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Aug 5, 2005, 7:32 AM ET (1132 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) Shuttle officials decided Thursday that the crew of the space shuttle Discovery did not need to conduct an additional EVA to repair a damaged thermal blanket on the orbiter. Earlier in the week engineers raised concerned about minor damage to a thermal blanked near the front windows on Discovery; they were concerned that pieces could flake off and strike other portions of the shuttle during reentry. However, an analysis concluded that the blanket did not pose a risk to the shuttle, and there was no need to conduct an additional EVA to repair it. The STS-114 crew is wrapping up its stay at the station, transferring cargo into the station and taking garbage and other unneeded cargo from it. Discovery is scheduled to undock from the ISS Saturday at 3:24 am EDT (0724 GMT) and land back at the Kennedy Space Center early Monday morning.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list