spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle landing
Posted: Mon, Aug 8, 2005, 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)
STS-114: logo (NASA) "Unstable" weather conditions at the Kennedy Space Center forced NASA to delay Monday morning's landing of the space shuttle Discovery for one day and created the possibility that the shuttle could land in California or New Mexico. Discovery was scheduled to land at KSC early Monday, but two landing attempts planned for 4:47 am and 6:22 am EDT (0847 and 1022 GMT) were scrubbed because variable low clouds over the landing strip made shuttle managers uncomfortable about committing to a landing, even though weather conditions were good enough to attempt a landing when the decision was made to scrub the second landing attempt. NASA now plans to land the shuttle on Tuesday, with landing opportunities at KSC at 5:07 am or 6:43 am EDT (0907 or 1043 GMT). However, if weather again precludes a landing at KSC, shuttle managers plan to land the shuttle at either Edwards Air Force Base, California or at White Sands, New Mexico. The shuttle has enough supplies to stay on orbit through Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list