spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches MRO
Posted: Fri, Aug 12, 2005, 3:09 PM ET (1909 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MRO (ILS) After two previous launch attempts were delayed, an Atlas 5 successfully launched NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) mission Friday morning. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Launch Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral at 7:43 am EDT (1143 GMT), after a trouble-free countdown. MRO separated from the booster's upper stage 58 minutes later, after being placed on a Mars-bound trajectory. The launch took place after two previous attempts were delayed: a Wednesday attempt was scrubbed the afternoon before to investigate a potential issue with the rocket's gyros, while a second attempt was scrubbed shortly before launch Thursday because of a software glitch. MRO will arrive at Mars in March 2006, entering orbit around the planet. The spacecraft will provide high-resolution imagery of the planet's surface for scientific purposes, as well as planning for future lander missions.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list