spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launch of commercial comsat delayed
Posted: Sat, Aug 13, 2005, 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Amos 2 satellite (Arianespace) The launch of an American communications satellite on a Soyuz booster was scrubbed at the last moment Friday night because of a glitch with the rocket's telemetry system. The Soyuz-Fregat was scheduled to launch the Galaxy 14 communications satellite shortly before 7:30 pm EDT (2330 GMT) Friday night from the Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, but the launch was scrubbed 30 seconds before launch when a telemetry problem with the Soyuz's second stage developed. The launch has been rescheduled for 7:28 pm EDT (2338 GMT) Saturday. Galaxy 14 is an Orbital Sciences-built communications satellite for PanAmSat, carrying a payload of C-band transponders. The satellite was originally planned for launch on an Ariane 5, but was moved to Soyuz to better meet PanAmSat's schedule.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list