spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches Japanese satellites
Posted: Wed, Aug 24, 2005, 12:48 PM ET (1648 GMT)
Dnepr launch (Kosmotras) A converted Russian ICBM successfully launched two Japanese satellites late Tuesday. The Dnepr lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:10 pm EDT (2110 GMT) Tuesday, placing the experimental Japanese satellites into a Sun-synchronous orbit. The primary payload on the Dnepr was the Optical Inter-orbit Communications Engineering Test Satellite (OICETS), a Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) experimental satellite. OICETS, renamed Kirari after launch, is designed to test laser intersatellite communications links with Artemis, an ESA spacecraft that has been in orbit for several years. Also on board the Dnepr was the Innovative Technology Demonstration Experiment Satellite (INDEX), renamed Reimei after launch. Reimei will test how a number of advanced technologies operate in space conditions, and also perform auroral observations. The launch was the fifth orbital mission for the Dnepr, a converted SS-18 ICBM, and the first since mid-2004.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 20
On Mars, exploration is a job for robots - and humans
Flightglobal.com — 1:01 am ET (0501 GMT)

Thursday, July 19
Falcon 9 rocket test-fired for weekend launch
Spaceflight Now — 12:55 am ET (0455 GMT)
British government to promote space industry exports
Space News — 12:53 am ET (0453 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list