spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches small remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sun, Aug 28, 2005, 8:50 PM ET (0050 GMT)
A Rockot launcher successfully placed a small remote sensing satellite into orbit late Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 2:34 pm EDT (1834 GMT) Friday, carrying the Monitor-E satellite. The booster placed Monitor-E into a Sun-synchronous orbit 540 kilometers above the Earth 90 minutes after liftoff. After some initial communications problems, ground controllers established contact with the satellite. The 750-kilogram satellite is the first of a new generation of small Earth-observing satellites. Russian officials said Monitor-E will be used primarily for mapping and ecological studies during its five-year mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list