spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Lightning strike delays Atlas launch
Posted: Sun, Jul 22, 2001, 11:20 AM ET (1520 GMT)
GOES-M illustration (NASA) The Atlas 2 launch of a new weather satellite was delayed by 24 hours late Saturday when lightning struck a nearby launch pad. The Atlas 2A was scheduled to lift off from Pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 3:01 am EDT (0701 GMT) Sunday and place the GOES-M weather satellite into orbit. However, a lightning strike at neighboring Pad 36B led launch officials to delay the launch 24 hours so that they can confirm that the systems on the launch vehicle were not damaged by the strike. The launch has been rescheduled for 3:02 am EDT (0702 GMT) Monday, at the beginning of an 83-minute launch window. The spacecraft is the fifth and final spacecraft in the current Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite (GOES) series built by Space Systems/Loral. The spacecraft will monitor terrestrial weather from geosynchronous orbit while also keeping an eye on space weather with an x-ray imaging instrument that will be trained on the Sun.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list