spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Japanese launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 21, 2006, 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)
M-5 launch vehicle (JAXA) The launch of a Japanese satellite was postponed 24 hours late Monday because of poor weather conditions. The launch of the M-5 rocket carrying the Astro-F satellite was scheduled for 4:28 pm EST Monday (2128 GMT Monday, 6:28 am JST Tuesday) but JAXA announced that "adverse" weather conditions forced them to postpone the launch 24 hours. Astro-F is an infrared astronomy satellite, featuring a 70-cm telescope, that will operate from polar orbit. The launch will be the third this year for Japan — an unusually active schedule — and the second launch in less than a week. The launch window for this mission extends through February 28.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list