spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MRO enters orbit
Posted: Fri, Mar 10, 2006, 8:40 PM ET (0140 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter spacecraft successfully entered orbit around Mars Friday afternoon. The spacecraft started its 27-mninute orbit insertion burn at 4:24 pm EST (2124 GMT) and slipped behind the planet, as seen from Earth, at 4:51 pm EST (2151 GMT). Contact with MRO was restored on schedule at 5:16 pm EST (2216 GMT). Initial indications are that the spacecraft is in its desired elliptical orbit around the planet, one that the spacecraft will gradually circularize over the next several months through a series of aerobraking passes in the planet's upper atmosphere. MRO carries six instruments, including the most powerful camera ever flown to Mars and a radar that will probe for water below the planet's surface. MRO will also serve as a communications relay for future Mars missions, including the Phoenix lander and Mars Science Laboratory rover.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 20
Rethinking EM-1, and SLS
The Space Review — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)
NASA’s flawed plan to return humans to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:13 am ET (1513 GMT)
Pow, right to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:12 am ET (1512 GMT)
Inmarsat in talks on £2.5bn takeover bid from former owner Apax
The Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list