spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Sun, Mar 12, 2006, 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Hot Bird 7A and Spainsat (Arianespace) After three previous attempts were scrubbed in recent weeks, an Ariane 5 successfully launched two communications satellites Saturday night. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 5:32 pm EST (2232 GMT) Saturday and placed its payload, the Hot Bird 7A and Spainsat spacecraft, into a geosynchronous transfer orbit a little over a half-hour later. Hot Bird 7A, built by Alcatel Alenia for Eutelsat, is a 4,100-kg satellite that will operate from 13 degrees east, carries 38 Ku-band transponders to provide TV and radio broadcasting services to Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Spainsat, built by Space Systems/Loral for Hidesat, is a 3,700-kilogram satellite with 13 X-band and 1 Ka-band transponders that will be used for military communications for the Spanish government. The launch took place on the fourth attempt; three previous attempts, dating back to February 21, were delayed because of a variety of ground equipment, satellite, and upper stage problems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, March 20
Rethinking EM-1, and SLS
The Space Review — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)
NASA’s flawed plan to return humans to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:13 am ET (1513 GMT)
Pow, right to the Moon
The Space Review — 11:12 am ET (1512 GMT)
Inmarsat in talks on £2.5bn takeover bid from former owner Apax
The Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list