spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launch rescheduled for January 24
Posted: Fri, Jan 19, 2001, 11:02 PM ET (0402 GMT)
Mir space station Russian officials said Friday they plan to make a second attempt to launch an unpiloted Progress spacecraft to Mir on January 24 after an initial launch attempt was scrubbed by a power failure on Mir. Progress M1-5 is now scheduled for 11:29 pm EST January 23 (0429 GMT January 24) assuming Mir's computer can be brought back online by Saturday, according to Spaceflight Now. The launch was scheduled for Thursday but postponed several hours before launch when a power failure on Mir shut down the station's gyroscopes and computers, a failure blamed on overheating of batteries in the station's Kvant-2 module after receiving more exposure to the Sun than usual. Once docked to the station, the Progress will be used to lower the station's orbit, deorbiting it over the Pacific Ocean on March 6.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list