spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Glitch delays Titan 2 launch
Posted: Sat, Jan 20, 2001, 12:53 PM ET (1753 GMT)
A payload glitch has delayed Saturday's scheduled launch of a Titan 2 booster from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California for at least one day. A commanding problem with the DMSP F16 spacecraft, first noticed six and a half minutes before the 8:58 am EST (1358 GMT) liftoff, forced launch controllers to scrub the launch when the problem could not be corrected before the end of the 10-minute launch window. The launch has been tentatively rescheduled for Sunday at the same time, provided that the problem can be corrected. The spacecraft is part of Defense Meteorological Satellite Program and will be placed in a circular low-Earth polar orbit to provide weather data that will aid American military operations. Instruments on the spacecraft will also study the space weather environment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 21
Innovation are shaping space industry: ISRO
UNI — 1:19 am ET (0619 GMT)
First privately built rocket to launch by 2021: Isro chief
The Times of India — 1:19 am ET (0619 GMT)
Madhavan to play rocket scientist Nambi Narayanan in a biopic
The Times of India — 1:18 am ET (0618 GMT)
Marco Rubio's reservations put Trump's NASA nominee in jeopardy
Fort Myers (FL) News-Press — 1:17 am ET (0617 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list