spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery lifts off
Posted: Fri, Aug 10, 2001, 7:24 PM ET (2324 GMT)
STS-105 launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Discovery lifted off Friday afternoon on mission STS-105, leaving five minutes early to avoid approaching thunderstorms. Discovery lifted off at 5:10:14 pm EDT (2110:14 GMT) from Pad 39A of the Kennedy Space Center after a routine countdown; the shuttle entered orbit without incident. Launch controllers moved the launch time up five minutes from the middle to the beginning of a ten-minute launch window, trading away some fuel efficiency in order to get off the ground before afternoon thunderstorms could ground the shuttle. The shuttle is scheduled to dock with ISS Sunday at 2:38 pm EDT (1838 GMT) for an eight-day stay. The main purpose of the STS-105 mission is to deliver the three-man Expedition Three crew to the station and return the Expedition Two crew currently on ISS to Earth. Two spacewalks are also planned on the mission to install logistical equipment and prepare the station for future assembly work.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list