spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Aug 12, 2001, 7:07 PM ET (2307 GMT)
STS-105 patch The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on schedule Sunday afternoon. Discovery docked with the station at 2:42 pm EDT (1842 GMT) after a smooth approach. Hatches separating the two spacecraft opened about two hours later, allowing the two crews to meet. The Expedition three station crew ferried to the station on the shuttle will start moving into the station Monday, although command of the station will not be officially passed from Expedition Two commander Yuri Usachev to Expedition Three commander Frank Culbertson until shortly before Discovery undocks on August 20. In addition to the crew transfer, the shuttle and station crews will be moving supplies carried in the Leonardo module that will be attached to the station during the shuttle's stay. Two STS-105 crew members, Patrick Forrester and Daniel Barry, will perform two spacewalks while the shuttle is docked to install logistical equipment and prepare the station for future assembly work.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list