spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Saturn moon sprays neighbors with ice
Posted: Mon, Feb 12, 2007, 7:28 AM ET (1228 GMT)
Enceladus seen by Cassini (NASA/JPL) A Saturnian moon with active geysers is coating a number of other moons with ice particles, scientists reported last week. In a paper published in the journal Science, researchers found that ice geysers on the moon Enceladus had ejected ice particles that were coating the surfaces of at least 11 other moons of Saturn. That coating of ice particles explains why those small moons, which are themselves not geologically active, have bright surfaces that must be renewed regularly to remain highly reflective. Enceladus and the other moons all orbit in Saturn's E-ring, which itself is formed by ice particles from Enceladus.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Revised analysis rules out detection of gravitational waves
Posted: Sat, Jan 31 8:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)

Delta 2 SMAP launch postponed to Saturday
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)

Air Forces cancels competition for EELV-class launch
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 31
Astronaut calls on Air Force experience in space
US Air Force — 11:07 am ET (1607 GMT)
NASA satellite successfully launched from VAFB
Lompoc Record — 11:07 am ET (1607 GMT)
Oh, SMAP! NASA's Soil Moisture Satellite Goes Into Orbit
NBCNews.com — 10:02 am ET (1502 GMT)
New Horizons leader to speak in Flagstaff
Arizona Daily Sun — 10:02 am ET (1502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list