spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
ISS suffers temporary power outage
Posted: Mon, Feb 12, 2007, 8:01 PM ET (0101 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) The International Space Station suffered a power outage Sunday that cut off communications with Earth for about 90 minutes, NASA announced Monday. The power outage took place shortly after 1 am EST (0600 GMT) Sunday, when a circuit breaker tripped after an electrical switching unit malfunctioned. Communications with mission control were re-established around 2:35 am EST (0735 GMT) Sunday, and the crew spent the rest of Sunday and into early Monday restoring other systems affected by the power outage, including several scientific experiments and one of the station's attitude-controlling gyroscopes. Other key systems, including life support, were not affected by the outage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Boeing and SpaceX for commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)

NASA report criticizes management of NEO program office
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:16 PM ET (0116 GMT)

ESA picks comet landing site
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 7:29 AM ET (1129 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 16
Five takeaways from NASA’s commercial crew decision
Houston Chronicle — 8:08 pm ET (0008 GMT)
3 Things to Know About NASA’s New Private Space Contracts
Popular Mechanics — 8:06 pm ET (0006 GMT)
NASA awards space contracts to Boeing and SpaceX
Washington Post — 8:05 pm ET (0005 GMT)
Yeast, the final frontier
Univ. of British Columbia — 8:04 pm ET (0004 GMT)
NASA taps SpaceX, Boeing for ISS taxis
Waco (TX) Tribune-Herald — 8:02 pm ET (0002 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list