spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ESA delays first ATV launch
Posted: Sat, Mar 24, 2007, 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
ATV illustration (ESA) The European Space Agency said this week that the launch of its first unmanned cargo spacecraft to the ISS would be pushed back until as late as November to both accommodate changing station assembly schedules and to give the agency more time to complete work on the spacecraft. The first Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV), named Jules Verne, has been scheduled for launch to the ISS on an Ariane rocket in July. ESA announced this week that the launch had been delayed to this fall, with launch windows in September and November. Part of the delay was linked to delays in the schedule of shuttle missions to the ISS caused by the delay of the next shuttle mission, STS-117, from March until no earlier than mid-May. However, the extra time was also needed to complete final tests of the spacecraft, which had fallen behind schedule. The ATV is designed ferry up to 7.5 tons of supplies to the station and dispose of several tons of waste, fulfilling European obligations to support the station as part of the international partnership.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 17
Sutherland spaceport could create 400 jobs and reverse population decline
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
Virgin Orbit plans rocket launches from UK airport
CNET News.com — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
Southern road to Spaceport America almost done
Las Cruces (NM) Sun-News — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list