spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Canadian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 10, 2007, 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Proton launch of Anik F3 (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for a Canadian company early Tuesday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 6:54 pm EDT Monday (2254 GMT Monday, 4:54 am Tuesday local time) carrying the Anik F3 satellite. The Proton's Breeze-M upper stage deployed the satellite in orbit 9 hours and 11 minutes later. The Anik F3 is an EADS Astrium Eurostar 3000 model weighing about 4,640 kilograms, and carrying a mix of C-, Ku-, and Ka-band transponders. The spacecraft, owned by Canadian operator Telesat, will be located at 118.7 degrees west in GEO and be used for a variety of communications services. The launch is the first commercial launch this year for the Proton.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list