spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches NFIRE
Posted: Tue, Apr 24, 2007, 8:31 AM ET (1231 GMT)
Minotaur launch (OSC) A Minotaur rocket successfully launched an experimental missile warning satellite early Monday from Virginia. The Minotaur 1 lifted off from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia, at 2:48 am EDT (0648 GMT) and placed the Near Field Infrared Experiment (NFIRE) satellite into low Earth orbit. The launch had been scheduled for Monday but was delayed because of problems with ground support equipment. NFIRE will be used by the Missile Defense Agency to test sensors that could be used to detect missile launches for future missile defense systems. The launch is the second in four months from the Virginia spaceport, after another Minotaur launched the TacSat-2 and GeneSat-1 spacecraft from the spaceport in December. Another Minotaur launch is scheduled to take place from the spaceport late this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 10
Near-Earth asteroid removed from risk list
Cosmos Magazine — 4:49 am ET (0949 GMT)
Op-ed | IoT smallsats: Ready for launch?
Space News — 4:45 am ET (0945 GMT)
Last-Minute Glitch Delays US Spy Satellite Launch
SPACE.com — 4:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
Secrets from the Far Side of the Moon
SPACE.com — 4:44 am ET (0944 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list