spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches Italian astronomy satellite
Posted: Mon, Apr 23, 2007, 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
PSLV launch of Cartosat-2 and SRE-1 (ISRO) An Indian rocket launched a small Italian astronomy satellite Monday in India's first commercial launch. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 6:00 am EDT (1000 GMT) and placed the AGILE satellite into a near-equatorial 550-kilometer orbit. The 350-kilogram AGILE was built by Carlo Gavazzi Space for the Italian Space Agency and carries a suite of X-ray and gamma-ray astronomy instruments. Also on board the PSLV was an experimental Indian satellite, the Advanced Avionics Module, designed to test advanced launch vehicle avionics systems. The launch was the first commercial launch for India, with Italy paying the Indian space agency ISRO about $10 million for the launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list