spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Shuttle rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Tue, May 15, 2007, 7:40 PM ET (2340 GMT)
STS-117: May 2007 rollout (NASA/KSC) NASA moved the space shuttle Atlantis to the launch pad early Tuesday, one day ahead of schedule, in preparation for its launch next month. Atlantis, attached to its repaired external tank and solid rocket boosters, left the Vehicle Assembly Building just after 5 am EDT (0900 GMT), arriving at Launch Pad 39A shortly before noon EDT (1600 GMT). The rollout was planned for Wednesday, but was moved up a day after workers were able to complete preparatory work for the rollout early. Atlantis is scheduled to lift off on mission STS-117 no earlier than June 8 on an ISS assembly mission. The launch was planned for mid-March but delayed after the insulation on the shuttle's external tank suffered damage on the pad during a freak hailstorm in late February.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launch postponed
Posted: Thu, Nov 27 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list