spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour cleared for launch despite computer sabotage
Posted: Thu, Jul 26, 2007, 8:11 PM ET (0011 GMT)
STS-118: logo (NASA) NASA cleared the space shuttle Endeavour for launch early next month while revealing that a computer the shuttle will carry to the station was apparently sabotaged by a worker. Shuttle managers completed a two-day flight readiness review on Thursday and approved the launch of Endeavour on mission STS-118 at 7:02 pm EDT (2302 GMT) August 7. Officials also revealed Thursday afternoon that wires in a data relay box being carried to the station were cut, apparently in an act of sabotage by a worker at a contractor. The device will be repaired in time for the launch, and who caused the damage, and why, is under investigation by NASA's inspector general office.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list