spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Fatal explosion at Mojave Airport
Updated: Fri, Jul 27, 2007, 6:54 AM ET (1054 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Jul 26, 2007, 8:18 PM ET (0018 GMT)
Mojave Airport, California An explosion at a Scaled Composites rocket test stand at Mojave Airport in California Thursday afternoon killed three people and injured three others. The explosion, described as a nitrous oxide "flash" explosion, took place around 5:30 pm EDT (2130 GMT) Thursday at a test stand on airport property. The test stand is operated by Scaled Composites and the three people killed were all Scaled employees. Scaled founder Burt Rutan said that the workers were performing a "cold flow" test using nitrous oxide, but without an ignition system. The test had been performed a number of times in the past without incident. Scaled is developing a hybrid propulsion system for SpaceShipTwo, the commercial suborbital passenger spacecraft it is building for Virgin Galactic. Mojave Airport is an FAA-licensed spaceport and is home to a number of entrepreneurial space companies besides Scaled.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list