spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kaguya releases subsatellite, returns lunar images
Posted: Fri, Oct 12, 2007, 8:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
Kaguya first image of the Moon (JAXA) Japan's Kaguya lunar orbiter released the first of two subsatellites earlier this week and also returned its first images of the Moon. Kaguya released the Rstar relay satellite into an intermediate elliptical orbit on October 9 as the main spacecraft gradually lowers its orbit. Rstar will work with a second subsatellite to be released later this month to measure the Moon's gravity field. JAXA also released the first images of the Moon taken by the main Kaguya spacecraft, taken while the spacecraft was between 800 and 1,500 km above the surface. Kaguya entered orbit around the Moon last week and will reach its final circular orbit by the end of next week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 8
Super Bowl 50 Has Some Surprising Space Twists
SPACE.com — 4:55 am ET (0955 GMT)
Astronaut Edgar Mitchell: A legacy of research and moon walking
Christian Science Monitor — 4:53 am ET (0953 GMT)
SES-9 Launch Targeting Late February
SES — 4:42 am ET (0942 GMT)
SpaceX targeting Feb. 24 Falcon 9 launch of SES-9
Florida Today — 4:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list