spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 12, 2007, 8:48 PM ET (0048 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including the first Malaysian cosmonaut, docked with the International Space Station on Friday morning. The Soyuz TMA-11 spacecraft docked with the nadir port on the Zarya module of the ISS at 10:50 am EDT (1450 GMT), two days after launching from Baikonur, Kazakhstan. On board the Soyuz were two members of the ISS Expedition 16 crew, Peggy Whitson and Yuri Malenchenko, and guest cosmonaut Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, the first Malaysian in space. Whitson will take over as the ISS commander in a ceremony mext Friday, making her the first woman to command the space station. Whitson and Malenchenko will remain on the station for six months, while Shukor will return to Earth on October 21 with the departing Russian crew of Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list