spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pirs module docks with space station
Posted: Sun, Sep 16, 2001, 11:40 PM ET (0340 GMT)
Pirs docking module illustration (NASA) A new Russian docking and airlock module successfully docked with the International Space Station Sunday evening. The Piers (Russian for "pier") module docked at the nadir port of the Zvezda service module at 9:05 pm EDT Sunday (0105 GMT Sunday), two days after launch on a Soyuz rocket from Baikonur. Video of the docking was to be broadcast live on NASA TV but a last-minute transmission glitch prevented it from happening; otherwise, the approach and docking went smoothly. Piers will provide an additional docking port for Soyuz and Progress spacecraft as well as an airlock for staging EVAs from the Russian segment of the station. Three EVAs are planned for October by the Expedition Three crew to electrically mate the module to the station and attach additional equipment to its exterior. The Progress M-CO1 spacecraft that delivered Piers to ISS also carried additional cargo, including scientific equipment and maintenance supplies.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list