spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey adjusts course
Posted: Tue, Sep 18, 2001, 11:54 AM ET (1554 GMT)
Mars Odyssey spacecraft illustration NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft successfully adjusted its course towards the Red Planet early Monday, project officials announced. The spacecraft fired its thrusters for 12 seconds at 12:06 am EDT (0406 GMT) Monday, changing its velocity by 0.45 meters per second. The maneuver is the first in a series designed to target the spacecraft for Mars orbit insertion, scheduled for 10:30 pm EDT October 23 (0230 GMT October 24). Monday's maneuver was "was right on the money," according to mission manager David Spencer. Project officials also said they had successfully resolved an intermittent problem with the spacecraft's star tracker that had appeared in recent weeks. Sunlight was saturating the tracker's camera, preventing it from observing stars used to determine the spacecraft's orientation. Engineers traced the problem to an open door on the spacecraft's gamma ray spectrometer instrument that was reflecting light into the star tracker; closing the door eliminated the problem.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list