spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle countdown begins
Posted: Sat, Oct 20, 2007, 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
STS-120: logo (NASA) The countdown clock started Saturday afternoon towards Tuesday's launch of the space shuttle Discovery, although weather could delay the launch. The countdown for the launch of STS-120 started at 2 pm EDT (1800 GMT) on Saturday, with the launch currently scheduled for 11:38 am EDT (1538 GMT) on Tuesday. Shuttle managers said current forecasts call for a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather, with clouds and showers the major concern. No technical issues have been reported with the shuttle. The 14-day mission to the station features the delivery of Harmony, a new docking node for the station, and the move of a solar panel segment to its permanent location on the station's port-side truss. The mission's seven-person crew, commanded by Pam Melroy, includes Expedition 16 crew member Dan Tani, who will remain on the station after Discovery undocks; current ISS crewmember Clay Anderson will return to Earth on STS-120.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list