spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery lifts off
Posted: Tue, Oct 23, 2007, 2:58 PM ET (1858 GMT)
STS-120: launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Discovery lifted off Tuesday morning on a mission to the International Space Station. Discovery launched on schedule at 11:38 am EDT (1538 GMT). having dodged poor weather that had been forecast, as well as a last-minute concern about ice buildup on a liquid hydrogen line that launch controllers determined was not a hazard to launch. The 14-day mission to the station features the delivery of Harmony, a new docking node for the station, and the move of a solar panel segment to its permanent location on the station's port-side truss. The seven-person crew also includes one astronaut, Dan Tani, who will remain behind on the station; current ISS astronaut Clay Anderson will return to Earth on Discovery.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list