spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
Delta 4 Heavy launches missile warning satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 11, 2007, 7:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)
Delta 4 Heavy before DSP-23 launch (ULA) Making only its second launch, and the the first in nearly three years, a Delta 4 Heavy successfully launched the last in a series of missile warning satellites on Saturday night. The United Launch Alliance Delta 4 Heavy lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida at 8:50 pm EST Saturday (0150 GMT Sunday). After the upper stage completed a series of three burns, the DSP-23 satellite separated from the vehicle at about 3:10 am EST (0810 GMT) in geosynchronous orbit. DSP-23 is the last in the series of Defense Support Program (DSP) satellites, designed to provide early warning of missile launches around the globe; the DSP program will be replaced by the Space-Based Infrared System (SBIRS) under development. The launch was the first operational mission for the Delta 4 Heavy, the most powerful member of the EELV family with three common core boosters as its first stage. The Delta 4 Heavy carried out a demonstration launch in December 2004, but a booster flaw caused the rocket to place the test payload into a lower-than-planned orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 17 8:41 PM ET (0041 GMT)

NASA selects Boeing and SpaceX for commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)

NASA report criticizes management of NEO program office
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:16 PM ET (0116 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 17
SpaceX, Boeing to Launch Humans Under NASA's Watch
Houston Press — 8:28 pm ET (0028 GMT)
Wanted by NASA: Space Telescope Director with Spy Credentials
Scientific American — 8:26 pm ET (0026 GMT)
Bezos Turns to Boeing Venture for Foothold in Space Race
Bloomberg News — 8:24 pm ET (0024 GMT)
New Boeing, SpaceX plan may launch space tourism industry in C. Fla.
Orlando Business Journal — 8:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list