spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Poor weather delays Kodiak Star launch
Posted: Fri, Sep 21, 2001, 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
Kodiak Launch Complex (Alaska Aerospace) Inclement weather conditions forced controllers Friday to delay for a day the launch of an Athena rocket carrying NASA and Defense Department satellites. The Athena 1 booster was scheduled to launch on the "Kodiak Star" mission Friday at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Saturday), but a combination of clouds, wind, and rain caused controllers to postpone the launch hours before liftoff. The launch is now scheduled for Saturday at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Sunday) from the Kodiak Launch Complex on Kodiak Island, Alaska. The Athena 1 carries four spacecraft: the Starshine 3 satellite for NASA and three small spacecraft sponsored by the Defense Department. The launch was previously scheduled for September 17 but delayed until the 21st after last week's terrorist attacks disrupted commercial air travel in the U.S., preventing launch personnel from getting to Kodiak.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list