spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fuel sensor problem delays shuttle launch to Saturday
Posted: Thu, Dec 6, 2007, 11:54 PM ET (0454 GMT)
STS-122: logo (NASA) NASA postponed the launch of the space shuttle Atlantis after encountering problems with fuel sensors, pushing the launch back to no sooner than Saturday. Atlantis was scheduled to lift off Thursday afternoon on mission STS-122, but the launch was scrubbed in the morning because of erroneous readings from hydrogen fuel sensors in the shuttle's external tanks. Two of the four sensors provided incorrect data during a routine pre-flight test; a third sensor also provided incorrect data when the external tank was emptied after the scrub. The launch is now scheduled for Saturday at 3:43 pm EST (2043 GMT), although that is dependent on engineers resolving the sensor problem on Friday. Atlantis is carrying the Columbus laboratory module for the station, provided by ESA. The shuttle launch must take place by December 13 or NASA will have to wait until January to try again.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list