spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 9, 2007, 9:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket launched a Russian military satellite early Sunday. The Proton-M rocket lifted from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 7:16 pm EST Saturday (0016 GMT Sunday) and placed the Kosmos-2434 satellite into its designated orbit, believed to be geosynchronous orbit, several hours later. Few details about the spacecraft were released beyond that it will serve the Russian military; some Western analysts believe it may be a military communications satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Wednesday, July 29
We come in peace: Taobao sells tickets to Earth-like planet
Want China Times — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)
ISS crew ducks debris as EVA preparations move forward
SpaceFlight Insider — 5:17 am ET (0917 GMT)
New Names and Insights at Ceres
NASA/JPL — 5:16 am ET (0916 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list