spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis rolled out to pad
Posted: Thu, Sep 4, 2008, 9:26 PM ET (0126 GMT)
STS-125: rollout (NASA/KSC) After delays caused by technical problems and threatening weather, NASA rolled the space shuttle Atlantis to the pad on Thursday. Atlantis left the Vehicle Assembly Building at 9:19 am EDt (1319 GMT), about 40 minutes ahead of schedule, and was locked down to launch complex 39A by about 4 pm EDT (2000 GMT). The rollout was scheduled for last Saturday but was first delayed because of additional work needed to be performed on the orbiter, and then because of concerns about Hannah, borderline tropical storm/hurricane in the Atlantic off the Florida coast. Shuttle managers decided to roll the shuttle out to the pad after forecasts showed Hannah would remain well off the Florida coast as it moved to the north over the next few days. Meteorologists, though, are keeping an eye on two other storms, Ike and Josephine, that could pose a threat to the Florida coast next week. Despite the delayed rollout, managers said they are still on track for an October 8 launch of the shuttle on STS-125, a mission to repair the Hubble Space Telescope.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)

SpaceX Falcon 9 launches BulgariaSat-1
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)

PSLV launches 31 satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 26
Beware of Mars and Bust
The Space Review — 4:54 pm ET (2054 GMT)
A small country’s big vision about small objects
The Space Review — 4:53 pm ET (2053 GMT)
Outpost in the Sky: Skylab, the NASA Mission Reports
The Space Review — 4:52 pm ET (2052 GMT)
Review: Mars: The Pristine Beauty of the Red Planet
The Space Review — 4:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list