spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Delta launches Kepler mission
Posted: Sat, Mar 7, 2009, 9:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of Kepler (NASA/KSC) A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched NASA's Kepler spacecraft, a mission to search for Earth-like planets around other stars. The Delta 2 rocket lifted off on scheduled at 10:49 pm EST Friday (0349 GMT Saturday) and injected the Kepler spacecraft into an Earth-trailing heliocentric orbit about an hour later. The spacecraft, part of NASA's Discovery Program of relatively low-cost science missions, will monitor over 100,00- stars continuously for over three years, looking for slight, periodic decreases in brightness caused when planets orbiting the star pass through the line of sight between the star and spacecraft. Astronomers hope this technique will allow them to discover planets much smaller than previously detected, including worlds with similar sizes and orbits as the Earth.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)

Astronauts wrap up series of ISS spacewalks
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:11 AM ET (1111 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 28 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)

news links
Monday, March 2
SpaceX Successfully Launched Two Satellites
Forbes.com — 5:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
SpaceX launches 2 communications satellites
Waco (TX) Tribune-Herald — 5:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
Successful launch for Eutelsat 115 West B
Broadband TV News — 5:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
MDC, council approve $200,000 rocket engine test facility
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list