spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches on ISS taxi mission
Posted: Sun, Oct 21, 2001, 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russian cosmonauts and one French astronaut lifted off Sunday morning on a taxi mission to the International Space Station. The Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft lifted off from Baikonur at 4:59 am EDT (0859 GMT) and safely entered orbit as planned. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with ISS on Tuesday at 6:45 am EDT (1045 GMT). The TM-33 crew of Russians Victor Afanasyev and Konstantin Kozeev as well as ESA astronaut Claudie Haignere will spend a week on the station before returning to Earth in the Soyuz TM-32 spacecraft that has been docked to the station for the last six months. Such taxi flights are required twice a year to swap out the Soyuz spacecraft that serve as the station's lifeboat, as the Soyuz capsules are rated for only 180 days in space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list