spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches three satellites
Posted: Mon, Oct 22, 2001, 1:13 PM ET (1713 GMT)
Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (ISRO) An Indian launch vehicle successfully placed three spacecraft into polar orbit Monday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) C3 lifted off from the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) launch site at Sriharikota, on the east coast of India, at 12:53 am EDT (0453 GMT) Monday. It placed into a 568-km polar orbit its primary payload, ISRO's Technology Experiment Satellite, as well as two small European spacecraft, PROBA from Belgium and BIRD from Germany. The launch was the first for the PSLV since a May 1999 flight that launched an Indian remote sensing spacecraft and two small satellites for Germany and South Korea. India has focused more in recent years on a more powerful booster, the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle, which completed its first test flight in April of this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list