spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for Endeavour launch
Posted: Thu, Jun 11, 2009, 7:31 AM ET (1131 GMT)
STS-127: logo (NASA) The countdown started Wednesday for Saturday morning's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour on a mission to the International Space Station. The countdown started at 9 am EST (1300 GMT) Wednesday for mission STS-127, scheduled for launch at 7:17 am EDT (1117 GMT) Saturday morning. No technical issues are being reported with launch preparations so far, and forecasts call for an 80 percent chance of acceptable weather at launch time. The mission will complete the assembly of the Japanese lab module Kibo by installing a platform outside the module. Five spacewalks are scheduled for the mission to accomplish this and other tasks during the 16-day mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Thursday, August 25
Could a Spacecraft Make it to Proxima Centauri?
Sky & Telescope — 12:42 am ET (0442 GMT)
Proxima b: Can we actually send a probe there?
Christian Science Monitor — 12:39 am ET (0439 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list