spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Kaguya impacts lunar surface
Posted: Thu, Jun 11, 2009, 6:42 AM ET (1042 GMT)
Kaguya (SELENE) illustration (JAXA) A Japanese spacecraft completed its mission Wednesday by crashing to the lunar surface. The Japanese space agency JAXA confirmed that the Kaguya spacecraft hit the lunar surface at 2:25 pm EDT (1825 GMT) Wednesday in the Moon's southern hemisphere. The impact point was in darkness, and a flash apparently caused by the impact was observed by at least one telescope on Earth. The orbiter, launched in September 2007, had been gradually lowering its orbit in recent months in preparation for the impact. The impact comes just a week before the launch of another Moon mission, NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter. A second spacecraft on that launch, LCROSS, will observe the impact of the rocket's upper stage on the Moon before colliding with the Moon itself.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Kuiper Belt target for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Aug 31 9:46 PM ET (0146 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 2
Jeff Bezos' Blue Origin backs down in patent fight with Elon Musk's SpaceX
Puget Sound Business Journal — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
County commissioners OK Blue Origin, Embraer incentives
Florida Today — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
Blue Origins, Embraer getting incentive deals for new jobs
My News 13 Orlando — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Atlas V rocket launch pushed back to 6:18 a.m.
My News 13 Orlando — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Orion crew module to be blasted with sound in Littleton
Denver Post — 5:42 am ET (0942 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list