spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Malaysian satellite
Posted: Tue, Jul 14, 2009, 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
Falcon 1 launch on Flight 4 (SpaceX) A Falcon 1 rocket successfully launched a Malaysian remote sensing satellite late Monday. The Falcon 1 lifted off from Omelek Island on Kwajalein Atoll in the central Pacific at 11:35 pm EDT Monday (0335 GMT Tuesday) and placed the RazakSAT spacecraft into low Earth orbit. The launch was the second successful one in a row for the Falcon 1, after the first three launches failed to place their payloads in orbit, and the first to put a functional satellite rather than a dummy payload into orbit. The 180-kilogram satellite, built by Malaysian company Astronautic Technology (M) Sdn. Bhd. for the Malaysian government, carries a high-resolution camera, will operate from a near-Equatorial orbit. The launch was delayed by about four and a half hours because of a problem with a helium pressurization system as well as weather. SpaceX plans to make the first launch of its more powerful Falcon 9 launch vehicle later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list