spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
Japanese lab component installed on station
Posted: Sun, Jul 19, 2009, 12:14 PM ET (1614 GMT)
STS-127: EVA #1 (NASA) Two spacewalkers worked through communications glitches Saturday as part of successful efforts to install a external experiment platform to the International Space Station. Astronauts Dave Wolf and Tim Kopra spent five hours and 32 minutes outside the ISS on a spacewalk that ended at 5:51 pm EDT (2151 GMT) preparing the Kibo lab module on the station for the installation of the Japanese Exposed Facility (JEF), brought to the station on the shuttle. The JEF was moved from the shuttle's cargo bay and attached to Kibo by the shuttle's and station's robotic arms shortly after the spacewalk was over. The two also completed the deployment of a cargo carrier attachment system that failed to deploy properly during an EVA on a previous shuttle mission. The two carried out their work despite heavy static that made it difficult for the astronauts to communicate with controllers. The second of five spacewalks for the STS-127 mission is scheduled for Monday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Dawn glitch to delay spacecraft's arrival at Ceres
Posted: Sat, Sep 20 3:53 PM ET (1953 GMT)

Weather postpones SpaceX cargo launch
Posted: Sat, Sep 20 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

Blue Origin and ULA partner on new engine
Posted: Thu, Sep 18 7:35 AM ET (1135 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 20
CU-Boulder's MAVEN poised to enter Martian orbit Sunday night
Boulder Daily Camera — 9:01 am ET (1301 GMT)
UCF Knight's experiments to accompany space launch
Univ. of Central Florida Future — 9:00 am ET (1300 GMT)
Back to space, without the Russians
U-T San Diego — 8:58 am ET (1258 GMT)
AFSPC Commander advocates defending space superiority
US Air Force — 8:55 am ET (1255 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list