spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 23, 2009, 7:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
PSLV launch of Oceansat 2 (ISRO) An Indian rocket placed a remote sensing satellite and several secondary payloads into orbit on Wednesday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 2:21 am EDT (0621 GMT, 11:51 am Indian time) and placed its main payload, the Oceansat-2 satellite, into a 728-kilometer Sun-synchronous orbit nearly 20 minutes later. The 960-kilogram satellite carries three instruments for studies of the ocean and atmosphere. Also launched by the PSLV were six small secondary payloads weighing between 2 and 8 kilograms.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Sunday, September 23
Can tourism propel space exploration to new heights?
Christian Science Monitor — 8:41 am ET (1241 GMT)
Japan space robots start asteroid survey
AFP — 8:35 am ET (1235 GMT)
Kounotori 7 cargo resupply mission on its way to ISS
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list