spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
ISS crew lands in Kazakhstan
Posted: Tue, Dec 1, 2009, 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-13 landing (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying Canadian, European, and Russian ISS crewmembers safely landed in Kazakhstan Tuesday. The Soyuz TMA-15 spacecraft carrying Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko, ESA astronaut Frank De Winne, and CSA astronaut Robert Thirsk landed near Arkalyk, Kazakhstan at 2:15 am EST (0615 GMT, 1:15 pm local time) Tuesday. The three departed the space station Monday night in the Soyuz spacecraft and had a normal reentry and landing. Recovery crews arrived at the capsule on all-terrain vehicles instead of helicopters because of cold, icy weather at the landing site. All three people spent 188 days in space, including 186 on the ISS as parts of Expeditions 20 and 21. Only two people remain on the ISS currently: NASA astronaut Jeff Williams and Russian cosmonaut Maxim Suraev. They will be joined in late December by three new crew members launching on a Soyuz.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list