spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA monitoring hurricane, to keep shuttle on pad
Updated: Sun, Nov 4, 2001, 4:34 PM ET (2134 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Nov 4, 2001, 10:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
STS-108 rollout to pad 39B (NASA/KSC) Space shuttle managers decided Sunday to keep the shuttle Endeavour on the pad as a major hurricane in the Caribbean should stay clear of the Kennedy Space Center, Spaceflight Now reported Sunday afternoon. Officials met to chart the progress of Michelle, a powerful hurricane bearing down on Cuba as of Sunday afternoon. The hurricane is a Category Four storm on the Saffir-Simpson scale of one to five, with peak sustained winds of 215 km/h. Current forecasts call for the storm to continue moving to the northeast, with the eye of the storm staying clear of Florida as it moves towards the Bahamas. Because of the small probability of the storm veering towards central Florida, managers decided not to roll back the shuttle to the safety of the Vehicle Assembly Building.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list