spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Winds delay SDO launch
Posted: Thu, Feb 11, 2010, 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
SDO illustration (NASA/GSFC) High winds Wednesday delayed the launch of NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) spacecraft for at least a day. An Atlas 5 was scheduled to launch SDO from Cape Canaveral, but the launch was scrubbed after winds remained above limits. The launch has been rescheduled for 10:23 am EST (1523 GMT) Thursday, with winds still a concern. SDO is a five-year mission to observe the Sun and better understand solar storms and other activity as the Sun goes through its next peak in its 11-year cycle of activity.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list