spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Station's cupola opened
Posted: Wed, Feb 17, 2010, 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
STS-130: cupola after EVA#3 (NASA) Spacewalkers removed covers and unlocked shutters that allowed astronauts on the International Space Station to open its new cupola for the first time early Wednesday. Robert Behnken and Nicholas Patrick spent five hours and 48 minutes outside the ISS on an EVA that ended at 3:03 am EST (0803 GMT), performing work on the cupola that allowed astronauts inside to open shutters and enjoy the view from its large windows for the first time. The spacewalkers also activated a second ammonia coolant line for the new Tranquility module and performed other work on the station's exterior.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Thursday, February 11
Monumental Discovery: RIT researchers on team confirming Einstein’s theories
Rochester Institute of Technology — 8:15 pm ET (0115 GMT)
GGC physicist leads team in innovative black hole research
Georgia Gwinnett College — 8:15 pm ET (0115 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list