spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Ice deposits discovered at Moon's north pole
Posted: Wed, Mar 3, 2010, 6:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
Lunar craters with water ice detected by Mini-SAR (NASA) An American instrument on an Indian spacecraft has detected deposits of water ice in portions of craters in the Moon's north polar region, scientists announced Monday. The Mini-SAR synthetic aperture radar instrument, which flew on India's Chandrayaan-1 spacecraft, detected water ice in permanently shadowed regions of more than 40 small craters, with an estimated 600 million metric tons of ice overall. Scientists had long hypothesized that portions of those craters could serve as cold traps, allowing ice to collect. The discovery adds to other research that has detected traces of water ice in the Moon's polar regions, including water detected by NASA's LCROSS lunar impactor mission last fall. Chandrayaan-1 orbited the Moon for nearly a year in 2008 and 2009, carrying 11 instruments from India, Europe, and NASA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

Russian research satellite unresponsive to commands
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)

Progress launches, arrives at ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 24 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 26
Newt Gingrich’s Space Nightmare Almost Came True in 2012
National Journal — 9:00 am ET (1300 GMT)
Saving Two American Astronauts From Russian Blackmail
The Daily Caller — 8:58 am ET (1258 GMT)
No, Earth Wasn’t Nearly Destroyed By a 2012 Solar Storm
Scientific American — 8:56 am ET (1256 GMT)
Martian Soil Salts May Make Water Ice All Wet
Scientific American — 8:55 am ET (1255 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list