spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
NASA tests Orion launch abort system
Posted: Fri, May 7, 2010, 6:56 AM ET (1056 GMT)
Orion Pad Abort 1 launch (NASA) NASA successfully demonstrated on Thursday a launch abort system originally developed for the Orion spacecraft, but whose future use is now uncertain. The Pad Abort 1 flight test took place at White Sands Missile Range in New Mexico at 9 am EDT (1300 GMT) Thursday, when the launch abort system lifted a full-sized Orion spacecraft off a pad and to an altitude of about two kilometers before parachuting back to a soft landing just over a minute and a half later. The system was developed to permit the speedy escape of a crewed Orion spacecraft in the event of problems with its Ares 1 launcher. However, with NASA's proposal to cancel Ares 1 and turn Orion into a a crew return vehicle for the ISS that is launched without a crew, its future appears uncertain. NASA said that the test will "help refine design and analysis for future launch abort systems".
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
Rover distance record: Mars rover Opportunity breaks space exploration record
Christian Science Monitor — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
Asteroids Named After Two Arizona State University Professors
Phoenix New Times — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
Corning donates $1.8M mirror for space telescope
Elmira (NY) Star-Gazette — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
8th Mars Report: Was Ancient Mars Warm and Wet or Cold and Icy?
The Planetary Society — 6:59 am ET (1059 GMT)
Rocket Lab Prepares For Launch
Wall Street Journal — 6:54 am ET (1054 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list